June 11, 2020 update from Jennifer Rose

On 10/28/19 I was granted a sentence reduction from 25-years-to-life down to 8 years on the assault and battery against a state prosecutor – a “non-serious” felony. Several people attended my hearing and applauded the judge’s ruling with raised fists.

Now, I’m eligible for parole and have a BPH hearing scheduled for July 28, 2020. I need support letters addressed to the Board of Parole Hearings and Gov. Gavin Newsom citing positive reasons I should be found suitable for parole (e.g. being a college student, LGBTQ activism, advocacy work for incarcerated people, earning certificates from rehab programs and self-help programs). Support letters can be sent to me directly, or any questions can be directed to my attorney:

Richard Rutledge
Attorney at Law
7960 B Soquel Dr. #354
Aptos, CA 95003

People should also mention the COVID-19 emergency as a reason to demand my immediate release, because of my age (50), chronic illness (hepatitis C & Valley Fever), and vulnerability to severe COVID-19 symptoms in prison.

I’m very encouraged and hopeful about my chances for release right now! Thousands of prisoners have been released early from jails and prisons across the country over the past two months. We have built momentum for the abolitionist struggle to demand more decarceration efforts and sentence commutations.

I’ve been accepted by three different transitional housing programs. These community-based alternatives to incarceration make my continued imprisonment unnecessary. I’ve been held captive for over 30 years, survive brutality and torture, and I’m determined as ever to win Freedom!

I’m proud of our work with the Fire Ant collective. The zine is now in its sixth issue, and our imprisoned comrades able to connect their individual and collective struggles internationally.